Six Major League clubs are set to pay penalties under the newly restructured competitive balance/luxury tax this season.

The New York Mets, Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies, San Diego Padres and Boston Red Sox are currently over the threshold.

It's just the second time since the luxury tax's inception that six teams will pay the tax. The Dodgers and Padres were also penalized in 2021.