The Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, New York Yankees, San Diego Padres and Boston Red Sox were charged a luxury tax penalty under Major League payroll rules.

The Dodgers were hit with a $32 million tax bill for the second straight season, while the Mets will pay the tax for the first time since it was implemented in 2003.

The Mets set a tax payroll record at $299.8 million, topping the $297.9 million of the 2015 Dodgers.

The tax threshold is $230 million.