Personal Award - Baseball Wiretap

Mike Trout Wins Third AL MVP Award

Nov 14, 2019 8:38 PM

Mike Trout has won his third American League MVP award, beating out Alex Bregman.

Trout received 17 first place votes while Bregman received the other 13.

Marcus Semien finished third.

Trout is one of 11 players to win three MVPs while Barry Bonds had seven.

Alden Gonzalez/ESPN

Tags: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, Personal Award

Cody Bellinger Named National League MVP

Nov 14, 2019 8:35 PM

Cody Bellinger has been named National League Most Valuable Player, receiving first place votes on 19 of 30 ballots.

Christian Yelich finished second with Anthony Rendon coming in third.

Bellinger, a .305/.406/.629 hitter with 47 home runs and 15 stolen bases, is the first Los Angeles Dodgers player to win the MVP since Clayton Kershaw in 2014.

"It's what you dream of, man," Bellinger said.

Alden Gonzalez/ESPN

Tags: Los Angeles Dodgers, Personal Award

Justin Verlander Beats Out Gerrit Cole To Win AL Cy Young

Nov 13, 2019 10:26 PM

Justin Verlander beat out Gerrit Cole to win his second Cy Young award, receiving 17 first place votes compared to 13 for Cole.

Charlie Morton finished third one year after leaving the Houston Astros in free agency.

"The adversity I went through puts a new perspective on everything,'' he said. "I mean, still would've liked to have won a couple of them.''

Verlander finished second to Cole in ERA (2.58) and strikeouts (300).

Cole, 29, went 20-5 while leading the AL in ERA (2.50) and strikeouts (326), the latter the most in baseball since Randy Johnson struck out 334 in 2002.

Bradford Doolittle/ESPN

Tags: Houston Astros, Personal Award

Jacob deGrom Wins 2nd Consecutive NL Cy Young Award

Nov 13, 2019 10:22 PM

Jacob deGrom has won his second straight Cy Young award, receiving 29 of 30 first place votes.

DeGrom, 31, joins Randy Johnson, Tim Lincecum, Clayton Kershaw, Scherzer, Greg Maddux and Sandy Koufax on the list of NL back-to-back winner.

Hyun-Jin Ryu finished second in voting.

"I feel like I was trying to better what I did in 2018," deGrom said Wednesday. "I think that was something I struggled with to start this year, was kind of dwelling on what happened last year. Kind of not focusing on the task ahead as much as I probably should have."

David Schoenfield/ESPN

Tags: New York Mets, Personal Award

Matt Chapman, Nolan Arenado Repeat As Platinum Award Winners

Nov 9, 2019 1:11 AM

For the second consecutive year, the Athletics' Matt Chapman and the Rockies' Nolan Arenado have won their league's Rawlings Platinum Glove Award. Established in 2011, the Platinum Glove Awards are given to the best defender in each league, as selected via a fan vote from among the Gold Glove Award winners at each position.

Tags: Oakland Athletics, Colorado Rockies, Personal Award

Nolan Arenado Headlines 2019 Gold Glove Winners

Nov 4, 2019 1:12 AM

Nolan Arenado extended his streak of winning a Rawlings Gold Glove Award in every season of his career on Sunday, when the Colorado Rockies star captured the award for National League third basemen for the seventh consecutive year.

Arenado has won the award each year since he debuted in 2013. With this year's win, he moved into sole possession of fourth place for the most Gold Gloves among third basemen and just one behind Scott Rolen for third place all time.

Tags: Colorado Rockies, Personal Award